November 25, 2014

Beekeeping Speakers

The following people have volunteered to speak to beekeepers and other groups on various topics related to honeybees and bee management.

Though most are affiliated with The Maine State Beekeepers Association they are not endorsed by the organization and you will need to make arrangements directly with them.

Mark Cooper
Windham
Master Beekeeper
gmcooper81@aol.com
207-232-5842
Beginning beekeeping, making nucs, raising queens, swarm collecting

Rick Cooper
Bowdoinham
Master Beekeeper, Past President MSBA
rick@bees-n-me.com
207-666-5643
Beekeeping (adult groups only)

Carol Cottrill
Rumford
Master Beekeeper, Past President MSBA & EAS Director
cottrill136@roadrunner.com
207-364-0917
Beekeeping, organizing bee clubs and schools, working with beeswax

Peter Cowin
Hampden
petercowin@bioedgefishing.com
207-299-6948
Beekeeping, swarm catching, feral colony removal

Roy Cronkhite
Livermore Falls
roycronkhite@gmail.com
207-754-2628 cell
207-897-4043 home
Beekeeping

Andrew Dewey
Southwest Harbor
andrew@beeberrywoods.com
207-266-7294
Beekeeping

Erin MacGregor-Forbes
South Portland
Master Beekeeper, Past President MSBA
queenbee@overlandhoney.com
207-838-4046
General beekeeping concerns, SARE, overwintering nucleus colonies, making summer nucs, swarm management and prevention, organizing bee clubs

Phil Gaven
Portland
Master Beekeeper
phil@thehoneyexchange.com
207-773-9333 Beginner Beekeeping, presentations for students and families, urban and suburban beekeeping, nucleus colonies whys and hows

Christy Hemenway,
Author of The Thinking Beekeeper – A Guide to Natural Beekeeping in Top Bar Hives
christy@goldstarhoneybees.com
207-449-1121

Jacky Hildreth
North Yarmouth
Master Beekeeper
jhildreth@troianowaste.com
207-332-6742

Tony Jadczak
Maine Apiarist/State Bee Inspector
anthony.m.jadczak@maine.gov
(207) 287-7562

Richard McLaughlin Jr.
Springvale
Master Beekeeper
Richard@apidoro.com
207-370-2215
Beekeeping, bee removals, swarm collection

Brian Pride
Lebanon
Master Beekeeper
learnmore@beepride.com
207-457-2337
Beekeeping, equipment, making mead

Peter Richardson
Portland
Master Beekeeper
pfrichar@gmail.com
207-650-3414
Beekeeping

Chris Rogers
Windham
Master Beekeeper
chris@backwoodsbeefarm.com
207-893-2847 Beekeeping

Lincoln Sennett, Swan’s Honey
Albion
Past MSBA Board Member, National Honey Board Representative
swanshoney@roadrunner.com
207-437-2251
Beekeeping, commercial pollination, packing, nucs

Matt Scott
Founding Member of MSBA, Past MSBA President and EAS Director
mscott.afs@gmail.com
207-495-3409
Beekeeping in ME, CCD and Mites, Bears and Bees in ME, Wintering in ME, Maine Bee Pasture and Bee Botany, The Art and Science of Beekeeping, History of Beekeeping in ME, Diseases, Pest and Parasites of Honeybees, Honey

Karen Thurlow-Kimball
Yarmouth
newmoonapiary@gmail.com
207-846-4449
207-329-9934
Travel distance 60 – 70 miles from Portland
Queens/requeening, small scale queen rearing, seasonal management, gardening for bees, products from the hive, disease and pest management, splitting hives, swarm control, honey production, the sustainable apiary

Fred Wardwell
Past MSBA President and Former Board Member
Making Mead (Honey Wine)
(207) 342-5570

This list last updated: May 2014

Print Friendly